Why Are so Many Going Gluten Free?

So,I have all of a sudden had a eczema flare up and being the nutrition and fitness nut that I am, I had to look at my diet to see what is going on. Growing up I always thought they were heat bumps, but to my surprise apparently I am the only one out of my sibling to have very sensitive skin. I have recently found out that gluten could be the culprit. So, I did a little research for you and have found that about 1 in 133 people in developed nations have allergic reactions to gluten,  some of which can be severe enough to be life-threatening. I am so thankful that it is not life threatening, however I can not handle eczema and if you have sensitive skin or allergies a gluten free diet might be the way to go.

Signs that you may need to go gluten-free(Jane Anderson):

  • Constantly Tired
  • Severe Headaches
  • Itchy Scratchy Rashes
  • Attention Deficits
  • Difficulty Concentrating or Memory Lapses
  • Anxiety, people who have non celiac gluten-sensitivity also report depression and anxiety levels that seem to be higher than those in the general population, although as of yet there’s no scientific research to back up those observations.

 


What is Gluten?

Gluten is normally present in cereals, grains, and mainly wheat products. It is a major protein.

 

Allowed foods (Gluten-Free Diet Article)
Many healthy and delicious foods are naturally gluten-free:

  • Beans, seeds, nuts in their natural, unprocessed form
  • Fresh eggs
  • Fresh meats, fish and poultry (not breaded, batter-coated or marinated)
  • Fruits and vegetables
  • Most dairy products

It’s important to make sure that they are not processed or mixed with gluten-containing grains, additives or preservatives. Many grains and starches can be part of a gluten-free diet:

  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn and cornmeal
  • Flax
  • Gluten-free flours (rice, soy, corn, potato, bean)
  • Hominy (corn)
  • Millet
  • Quinoa
  • Rice
  • Sorghum
  • Soy
  • Tapioca
  • Teff

Always avoid
Avoid all food and drinks containing:

  • Barley (malt, malt flavoring and malt vinegar are usually made from barley)
  • Rye
  • Triticale (a cross between wheat and rye)
  • Wheat

Avoiding wheat can be challenging because wheat products go by numerous names. Consider the many types of wheat flour on supermarket shelves — bromated, enriched, phosphated, plain and self-rising. Here are other wheat products to avoid:

  • Bulgur
  • Durum flour
  • Farina
  • Graham flour
  • Kamut
  • Semolina
  • Spelt

Avoid unless labeled ‘gluten-free’
In general, avoid the following foods unless they’re labeled as gluten-free or made with corn, rice, soy or other gluten-free grain:

  • Beer
  • Breads
  • Cakes and pies
  • Candies
  • Cereals
  • Cookies and crackers
  • Croutons
  • French fries
  • Gravies
  • Imitation meat or seafood
  • Matzo
  • Pastas
  • Processed luncheon meats
  • Salad dressings
  • Sauces, including soy sauce
  • Seasoned rice mixes
  • Seasoned snack foods, such as potato and tortilla chips
  • Self-basting poultry
  • Soups and soup bases
  • Vegetables in sauce

Before adhering to a gluten free diet, seek medical advice from a physician or registered dietitian that can tell you that what you are facing is truly a gluten allergy.

Follow Me on Twitter @fitwithcurves

Instagram @fitwithcurves

Pinterest @fitwithcurves

fit with curves, Chobani, better bad food

[/fusion_builder_column][/fusion_builder_row][/fusion_builder_container]